Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Doug Bates Award

The Doug Bates Award grew out of a desire to honor the legacy of an early proponent of high moral and ethical standards for America's educators. Doug Bates was an attorney with the Utah State Office of Education and served for a number of years as the attorney for NASDTEC. In both roles, Doug was consistent and relentless in his insistence that state licensing agencies and employing school districts effectively screen applicants and monitor all educators for moral fitness.


For a number of years, NASDTEC has included workshops pertaining to professional practices for educators in the programs at its national and regional conferences. In fact, NASDTEC now sponsors a national Professional Practices Institute each fall for practitioners aside from the annual conferences. Since 1997 NASDTEC's annual conference has included a formal presentation, entitled the "Doug Bates Lecture," specifically devoted to professional practices. Speakers are chosen on the basis of their demonstrated commitment to the ideals of NASDTEC in the area of educator moral fitness. 


Selection for the award is based on a number of factors:

  1. Membership in NASDTEC and/or affiliation with NASDTEC’s ProfessionalPractices efforts or other noteworthy efforts in this regard.
  2. Recognized contributions or work experience in the field of Professional Practices and educator misconduct.
  3. Demonstrated dedication to the safety and welfare of school children.
  4. Selection by the Professional Practices Committee with approval by the ExecutiveBoard.

Doug Bates Awards

  • 2015 - Joe Jamieson (Ontario, Canada)
  • 2014 - John Grant (GA)
  • 2013 - Carolyn Angelo (PA)
  • 2012 - Beverly Williams (AR)
  • 2011 - Marian Lambeth (FL)
  • 2010 - Victoria Chamberlain (OR)
  • 2009 - Troy Hutchings (Northern Arizona University)
  • 2008 - Gary Walker (GA)
  • 2007 - Ron Stanfield (UT)
  • 2006 - Kathleen Richards (FL)
  • 2005 - Bart Zabin (NY)
  • 2004 - Rick Eiserman (GA)
  • 2003 - Eugene Campbell (CO)
  • 2002 - Gary Jones (MO)
  • 2001 - Martin Bates (Granite School District, UT)
  • 2000 - Adelle Nore (WA)
  • 1999 - Charles Mackey, Jr. (NY)
  • 1998 - Paul Longo
  • 1997 - Doug Bates (UT)


Doug Bates Award Lectures

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
2015 Joe Jamison DOC (39 KB) Administration 9/21/2016
1997 - 2005 PDF (389.03 KB) Administration 4/17/2013
Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely

6/11/2017 » 6/14/2017
2017 Annual Conference

10/18/2017 » 10/20/2017
2017 Professional Practices Institute